Playing Hooky


This is going to be really short today, because I feel miserable!  I finished my work for the paying gig, so everything else is at my discretion.  As much as I tend to be a type A personality, there are times when I have to admit I just don’t have it in me.  Today is one of those days.

Never did muster the strength to make my chicken soup yesterday.  Perhaps that has contributed to the increased misery of today.  Who knows!  No one is here to play nursemaid for me and make me rest, so I have to make myself do it.  The family will have a big surprise later when I’m not doing it for them either.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been sick, and I’ve done everything I could do to prevent sickness.  The vitamins, the exercise, the healthy diet, the – well ok maybe I don’t get enough sleep.  I think it’s the common denominator amongst Americans.

I have a stack of magazines that I haven’t had time to read, but couldn’t throw out until I at least skimmed through, a couple of novels that I haven’t had time to read, 6 hours or recorded movies that I haven’t taken the time to watch, and  about a gazillion hours of sleep to catch up on. Now the trick is to fit all that in before this afternoon when I have to pick up my kids from school.  Another tricky thing is to manage to take medications to help me breathe and get some rest and time it so I can manage to drive the car to the school.  My daughter has her permit and I can let her drive home, but getting there is the keypin for my day.

After spending two hours staring at a screen of what I’ve already written and being unable to comprehend what I had planned to write next I’ve conceded to the brain fog of nasal congestion.  I surrender today, but I’ll attack it with vigor as soon as I’ve recovered.  It’s important to choose your battles, and this one isn’t worth the fight.    Besides this whatever it is doesn’t play fair  – I can’t breathe!  It’s cut off my oxygen and I can only breathe through my mouth.  Which of course leads to dry mouth, an increase in the sore throat and irritated eyes.

It’s times like this when I miss my mom the most.  Even though I’ve been married and on my own for years, it was Mom who would stop by and bring me soup, juice, and orange sherbet for later  when I felt better.  She would come in, fluff my pillows, straighten up the kitchen that I didn’t have the energy to do, heat up the soup and make me eat at least four bites.  She would make sure I had my liquids next to me before she left.  There was never any milking it either, she knew.  She would say ” You’ve got to take care of yourself because nobody  else looks after us moms. ”

The kids looked at me like I had 7 horns sticking out of my head and said “Hope you feel better.”

My husband set a can of 7Up on the counter and said “Make sure you call XXXXXX, and pick up YYYYYY.  Don’t forget the kids need to be picked up from school, and maybe this (the 7UP) will make your stomach feel better.”

Sigh!  I really miss Mom!  I had the privilege of being her caregiver for the last year and a half of her life.  At the time I didn’t consider it such a privilege, she was a strong-willed person with iron will.  Her nickname was “The Iron Maiden”.  It was Virginia’s way or the highway, and she ran a tight ship!  It was difficult for her to lose her independence, and difficult for us to watch her decline.

I appreciate that time for one main reason, we talked.  We didn’t have the best of relations, she was bossy and tried to control even to the end.  I am rebellious and determined to do things my own way.  We were a lot of like my mother and I, it was this that caused conflict between us but it was this very thing that brought us together.  We related to each other, understood how the other thought and rationalized.

Today I’m on my own.  I haven’t been sick since she has passed, and come to think of it for a couple of years before.  Oh I”ve had an upset stomach or a mild cold but not like this.   So, today I’m playing hooky.  I couldn’t just completely play hooky because I had work that was due this morning.  I had to get the crew moving this morning and out of the house and on their way to their destinations.  In true Ellie fashion, I promptly started in on my work.  I have to maintain a schedule, and practice that self-discipline.  It was a two-hour exercise of futility.

Y’all get a break today because I just don’t have it in me.  It’s probably a good thing because I was going to discuss the difference between the esoteric philosophies versus the eschatological studies relating to the Mayan calendar and Christian end times theology.  Yeah, maybe I just need some rest.

Have a glorious weekend!  Write On!

Leave a Reply

