Harry Potter VS Dragons


While much of the world was obsessed with Harry Potter, I didn’t read any of them.  Shocking I know and I may lose some of my followers with that admission.  I’m not opposed to reading them, it’s just that during the time that Harry Potter books were on the new release lists, I was thoroughly engrossed in a couple of other series.

Karen Marie Moning’s Fever Series was in full swing, and well what can I say.  Barrons is the bomb! http://www.karenmoning.com/kmm/novels/fever-series.html  They should be read in order to make the most sense.  Here’s a quick blurb from the author’s page:

MacKayla  Lane’s life is good. She has great friends, a decent job, and a car  that breaks down only every other week or so. In other  words, she’s  your perfectly ordinary twenty-first-century woman.

Or so she   thinks… until something extraordinary happens.

When her  sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her  death–a cryptic  message on Mac’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in  search of  answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a  shadowy  realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same   treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater  challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she  had no idea she  possessed–a gift that allows her to see beyond the  world of man, into the dangerous  realm of the Fae…

This is a dark, edgy urban fantasy that has some elements of paranormal romance.  I’ve read Karen’s other series, the Highlander series and I strongly recommend them to any romance readers.  We all have our favorites and Karen is one of mine.

During this same time, Christopher Paolini’s books came out.  I bought one of the self published editions of Eragon, and pre-ordered the rest when they were released.  I don’t know how many of you have read these books but they are substantial books, close to 500 pages each.

So while I was living vicariously through Mackayla Lane in Dublin, Ireland and enjoying the fantasy realm of Alagaesia with Sapphira and Eragon, most of my friends were gaga over Harry Potter.  I couldn’t discuss things with them because I hadn’t read it.  They weren’t interested in reading my stuff either, except my one faithful writer buddy Bethany!!!  Love that girl!

Bethany and I share a passion for The Fever series.  I pre-ordered us both a copy of Shadowfever when it was first released, only to find out that her mom had already gotten her a copy.  We never gave the spoilers away, but when we finished a book we were in deep discussion about  anything and everything that happened in the book.

I have several online writing friends, and many were taken aback to find out that I had not read Harry Potter. I’ll get around to it eventually. I find it ironic though that the HP obsession is so pervasive.  How many have read any of the classics?  Shakespeare anyone?   Fyodor Dostoyevsky anyone?  Can you even name one of the books written by him?  What about some Jane Austen? How about reading some Hemingway?  No, these aren’t currently popular, but each has its merits.

Many times authors give the advice to read, and write a little every day.  I’m not downing anything that someone else is reading.  Not everyone is going to like the same things.  I don’t read westerns, but Louis L’Amour has written many great books.  My tastes in reading materials aren’t any better than Joe Schmoe’s, just different.

There are so many books to read and only a certain amount of time that I can allot for reading.  When it came to choosing between Sapphira and Harry Potter, sorry but a dragon trumps a wizard any day in my book!

Speaking of my book, I don’t have a wizard in my story.  I have a mage.  In my world, the blood line of the mages are revered on nearly a god-like level.  My mage is very old, nearly 2300 years old, but then again the dragons are several hundred years old as well.  He’s rather lackadaisical, yet brilliant.  He’s the most powerful mage since his father died at 5600, from a rock slide.   The story is about dragons, legends, and of course the mage is an intricate component on every level of the story.  I think some of his quirks are quite funny, but humor is hard to convey in written form.

I put myself into this story, literally.  One of the characters is me, not in name but it’s essentially me.  Alfred Hitchcock always did it and I thought it would be fun.  I’m having a blast with it, I just hope my readers will  find it as entertaining.

Oh, and did I mention that it is set in Scotland?  Where else would my story be?

What do you think would trump a dragon?  Maybe I’ll write that into the second book.  Write on my friends, write on!

13 comments on “Harry Potter VS Dragons

  1. Oh thank goodness someone else who has not read Harry Potter. I’ve read books from just about every non-fiction genre out there as people give me books that they’ve read but are not keeping, I read them and pass them on. I get boxes of books this way. Yes I’ve read Shakespeare not all that fond of him but love movies of his works (weird I know). Love Jane Austen. Have read books by Fyodor Dostoyevsky as a teenager but please don’t make me remember the names I’d have to Google. I’ve read Louis L’Amour good for his genre but not my thing. I’ve also not read Twilight (gasp) and yet I’m writing a vampire book (how could I without reading that I’m asked all the time). My taste in books is eclectic and strange. Love dragon and mages and Scotland so your book sounds like a must read to me.

    Like

    • Sad to say I haven’t read Twilight either. I did however see the first two movies, and I wasn’t impressed. Well except for Taylor Lautner’s physiche in the second one!That was a concession to my teen daughters, otherwise I’d have watched something else. My affinity for dragons goes back to Anne McAffrey’s Dragonrider’s series, which I think was far more original than Paolini’s.

      Like

  2. There are dragons in Harry Potter too… In several of the books. Plus, in my opinion, they’re much better written than the Inheritance cycle. Of course, they’re about far more than magic and wizards, which is part of the grander scale of attraction for many people.

    I think that a lot of people in the HP fandom have read the classics. I know I have. I’ve read every one of Jane Austen’s novels, and some Shakespeare, though I dislike it immensely, Faulkner, etc. I know sometimes it seems to people who don’t know me that I only read YA novels like HP or the Hunger Games, but that’s only because what much is there to obsess over in Mansfield Park? A whiny heroine who can barely stand on her own two feet. It’s our pop culture life that may make it appear that we only read certain things.

    I do strongly suggest that you read Harry Potter because it’s not just a book anymore. It’s a culture, and now you say you can’t talk about it with friends, but there are also a lot of jokes out there that you may not understand without reading the books. Harry Potter is the mark of a generation.

    Yeah. Clearly, I love Harry Potter. But it really is a good series, and though you may lose a little of the magic by reading it later now that all the books are out, it’s still just as good. If you want proof, check out Mark Reads Harry Potter (follow a guy reading HP for the first time and his reactions). It’s pretty amusing, although much better if you’ve read the books.

    Like

    • Thanks for leaving the comment! Yes it has become a subculture, and in fact I felt like a complete idiot when I had to ask a good friend some very basic questions about Harry Potter. He suggested that I should read it as well. I’m not opposed to reading it, and I have been curious. Fair enough, it was a blanket statement that I made, and should not have been all inclusive; there are indeed many who are wide readers that have also read Harry Potter. YOur comment about Mansfield Park? I agree. Certainly wouldn’t fly today! the aforementioned friend has practically guilted me into reading them, because he writes amazing fanfiction about Harry Potter. HIs writing is very good, but I don’t get the full impact because I don’t know the HP storyline.

      Like

  3. I did finally read Harry Potter this past fall, and enjoyed them (a heckuva lot more than Paolini’s books, in fact) but I don’t really get the fanaticism.

    I feel pretty much the same way though, there is too little time and too many books to read (and write!).

    Like

  4. Yay, Targaryens! Appart from that, I can only encourage you to read Harry Potter (but don’t worry, I won’t unfriend you if you don’t, lol). For me it’s not just the great story and characters but everything that this series has brought me over the years: adventures, new friends… It’s something to lose yourself in completely and get swept along for the ride. Plus, I find it’s better written than Eragon, though I did enjoy that at the time when I read it (though I never got round to reading the rest of them).

    Like

  5. HP is so much more than just about Wizards, Witches, etc. It is a coming of age story, and fighting the good fight against evil. Which is mirrored to real life. I like how things get progressively worse. And yes, the Pern Stuff is AMAZING! I like the more scientific aspect of them then the fantasy part,and yes, there are series out there that are pretty much ripoffs of them…though I love Mercedes Lackey Valdemar stuff….I can’t help but see the parallel of Companion and Dragons. They are both telepathically bonded to their riders. At any rate, I do recommend the books. But I also too like reading pretty much everything. I love Shakespeare, and Dickens, and The Bronte’s (Except Wuthering Heights which makes me want to BIATCH slap Cathy no end for what she does to Heathcliff). I also have read Jane Austen, and love Pride and Prejudice. The classics are offputting to some, because the culture was so very different. My two and a half cents 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

