Virtual Tour Survivor!


YES! I made it to the end!  I completed the tour. During this tour I cyber visited Ontario, Canada; Victoria, British Columbia; Addison, Texas; Indianapolis, Indiana; Bedford, Kentucky; and I even cyber visited the UK!  Wow, no wonder I’m tired.

What an amazing adventure this has been.  I learned some valuable lessons over these past 16 weeks.  I learned some technical help that will hopefully help me with blogging in the future.  The true test will be when I have to do it on my own without having one of my tour buddies walk me through it.  I’m not exactly tech challenged, but not tech savvy either.

The most challenging thing to me was the writing on spec for this tour.  Each week we were given an assigned topic. Some were easier than others, as is always the case.  I wrote my first piece of flash fiction for Joseph Eastwood’s blog, and thought I didn’t do too bad for my first attempt.  Since then I’ve done a few other flash pieces that I may decide to post at a later date.  In the course of this tour, I’ve written quite a bit about Kiss of the Dragon. Everything from where I got my ideas, to my characters, to a blurb about my book.

I have interviewed several people for my women writer’s series, but hadn’t given any interviews.  My interview with Bruce Blake was a blast!  Apparently my unorthodox basketball techniques caused a bit of a stir.  LOL!  Shortly after that, I was interviewed for Satin Sheets Diva’s blog.

I am still working on my tricks and techniques that Tasha Turner  Coaching has been teaching us.  You’d think after 16 weeks I’d have it down but I don’t.  With practice though I just might get it.

I am proud of myself for sticking with it, there were times when I wanted to just quit.  Why is it that we get that desire, even when we make a commitment to do something, and it’s always past the drop date, or the half way point, or in my case shortly before the finish line?  It was nothing against the tour or the folks on the tour, but rather my own tendency to take on too much. When the week’s assignment is something you’ve never done before, and you need to get it to someone by a certain time; well it doesn’t seem like it would be a problem but there are a  few that about set me into orbit from panic.

Instead of tackling the next assignment, I was feeling a little stressed and started into panic mode instantly.  Once the panic begins, there’s no actual writing taking place until things reach critical where if I don’t start I will miss the deadline.  Sad isn’t it?

I have improved on my time management over the past sixteen weeks, but still have a lot of room for further improvement.  This tour has opened my eyes to some things I hadn’t considered in the past.  Thank you Tasha Turner, for all the work and patience you’ve put into this!  And to all my tour buddies – you guys(and gals) rock!

Until the next tour begins, Write on my friends, write on!

I’ve met some interesting people, made new friends, and learned more about some of my current writer frineds.

3 comments on “Virtual Tour Survivor!

  1. You did great. I loved getting to know you better through the tour. It was funny the assignments I thought would be easy were the ones everyone found hard and the ones I thought would be hard most of you breezed right through.

    Like

Leave a Reply

