The Winner’s Circle


I have accomplished something that I have only accomplished one time before.  I feel like there should be a party or cake or something.  I am practically giddy with joy!  I could certainly get used to this feeling, and am encouraged to go forth and write more prose.

I have two completed stories!  Yeah me!!  My past record of unfinished projects is going to be put to rest, retired as I diligently pound out  little bits here and there.

Just as weight loss is a gradual thing, so is writing.  Typically you can’t lose a large amount of weight in a short amount of time.  It’s not healthy unless you are under doctor’s supervision.  Well, for writing you don’t need the doctor’s supervision at least.  A little each day, my goal is 1500 words a day.  Most of the times I meet that.  There are days that I don’t even meet that with two blogs, and if you count FB or twitter.  Come on you know you guys do it too don’t you?  Those days when you’re grasping at straws to get something written.  It’s not that I have writer’s block.

Often it’s that I have too many irons in the fire! I’ve got three projects I’m working on, and five more lined up for the future.  Ever have that moment when you’re itching to start that new project?  It’s calling to you.  Shiny, new, the creation stage.  *sigh*  I do much better at the creation stage than I do the follow through stage.

As much as I love the creative process, it’s only a small part of writing.  As in any field there is work involved.  The moment of brilliance, the lightbulb spark that gives a thousand jolts of mojo, the creative ‘sparkjuice”; is only the beginning.  That’s like the runner taking off when the starter pistol is fired. Remember the old adage that it’s not how you start the race?

Right, then comes the mad dash sprint.  The fast furious scribblings approaching madness as the thoughts flow through finger tips through keys or pen.  I usually  take my burst, and make a rough outline.  This is when I stop and get to know my characters, chat with them, find out their dirt.  I don’t want their resume, I want to know their dark secrets that they don’t want anyone to know, which of course I will exploit to the fullest.  What fun is it to have their resume when everybody knows everyone has secrets to hide.

I wonder if people take that into consideration when they ask me if I will make a character based on them?  I”ll bet they will now!

The rough outline then becomes my chapter outline, then a scene outline. From this scene outline I begin working.  I’ve found in many instances my initial burst was nothing more than back story.  I’ve also found that at times I wrote hundreds upon hundreds of words that were yep, back story.  I typically write by scenes, making a completed scene before I end a writing session.

One scene soon becomes ten, ten grows to twenty and eventually you have a finished product.  Just like in weight loss, 1 pound then another and another, and before you know it the scales show a 40 pound loss!  Woo hoo!

In weight loss you’re told to celebrate to small victories when you have a large amount to lose.  A five-pound loss is a victory!  A completed project that’s nota single stand alone article is a victory!

Faere Warrior:  Passion’s Price is the short story I”ve been doing on Storytime.  It’s not the same as my original outline, far from it in fact.  It is however a completed short story.  This is a prequel to my Celtic Ties series, Faere Guardian; Faere Warrior; and Faere Lover.  Working titles of course.  It’s an 8 week story, that’s a vital part of the Celtic Ties world.  the last chapter will be posted next Tuesday.

This is like winning your  event at the district meet!

I realize there are no medals, no trophies, no wild applause – yet.  But for me, this is a personal victory.

As I leave to crank up the stereo and have a little dance party, I leave you with my parting words.

Write on my friends write on!  It really does add up!

 

4 comments on “The Winner’s Circle

Leave a Reply

