Prevention and Recovery


sunrise

Quotidiandose does not own copyrights to this photo.

I had posts planned for last week.  I had titles, ideas, notes, and interesting videos to accompany them.  However, things took an ugly turn when the flu bug invaded my home, and gave me a beat down.  A little bit of a cough on Sunday afternoon rapidly advanced into full-fledged coughing fits.  sinus congestion moved into my chest first – never a good thing.  Then to top it off came the nausea and the fever.  It rapidly progressed to pneumonia which required prescription medications.  It’s amazing how fast things changed from feeling just a little run down to critical.

I can deal with sinus congestion and continue working, but the fever, chills, and sweats sent me to bed.  Being sick is such a waste of time!  I had no other choice but to rest.  One of the things that I found with this bout of flu was the inability to think.  It was scary!  Simple processes were mind-boggling.  I left my posts in draft as they weren’t  making sense.  The work I did for my paying job –  well I hope that I did that ok before I finally admitted defeat.

No one likes to be sick!  So I got to thinking.  Uhoh, now you’re in for it.  I had lots of time to think while recovering.

I’ve always been of the mindset that prevention is better than treatment.  I still stand by that, but had to ask myself what else could I have done that I wasn’t doing to prevent getting sick, or prevent my children from getting it. My lifeline to the world was my smart phone.  Don’t you dare even consider  telling me I am addicted to my smart phone, I am well aware of my dependency!  I’m not ready to seek help for that issue just yet.

I did discover a couple of things that make sense to me.  News reports are full of tips to guard yourself against getting the flu, promoting getting the flu shots, what “super foods” you should be eating.  I take them all with a grain of salt.  It’s like the cold remedies.  Truthfully once you get a cold  you’re in it for the duration of ten days minimum, it’s just a matter of what medications mask your symptoms.  I have to admit my Gramms old-time remedy of a hot toddy is sure helpful.  “If it don’t cure what ails you, by the third dose you won’t care.”  LOL

Here are three helpful things that make sense to me, that may actually help you avoid sickness during the winter months.

  1. Vitamin D deficiency – The main source of getting vitamin D into our systems is by sunlight. During the winter months we are inside more as the temperatures plummet outdoors, and typically the skies are cloudy, and overcast.   I know several people who claim to have SAD – seasonal affective disorder, and they claim it’s sunshine therapy.  I think they are wrong myself  –  however a vitamin D deficiency does make sense. Symptoms include depression, a general gloomy feeling, and lowered immune  system.  I suppose you could make an argument for fake baking during the winter months – but I have a simple solution that won’t turn you into walking leather luggage.  Take a vitamin D supplement along with an extra C supplement.  Milk has long been supplemented with vitamin D, but I am not a big milk drinker.   I heard this  little piece of advice while flipping through channels on the PBS channel, and it makes more sense to me than SAD.   I have to admit, one of the down sides of working from home is that I don’t get out as much and tend to stay indoors.  Aside from not having a tan, just think about how good it feels to get out in the warm sunshine  at times, to feel the light breeze over your skin, and smell the cool crisp air.  I’ve added this to my goal list in my fitness plan this year.   I began taking multi vitamins again, and added a few supplements such as calcium  (to prevent osteoporosis), extra C (works wonders in the prevention of colds), iron ( have always had to take extra iron supplements), and now adding vitamin D.    I figure it certainly can’t hurt!
  2. Oxygen Uptake – Argue with me all you want but think about it.  When we are sitting at a desk or doing whatever it is we do throughout our days, we don’t consciously take deep breaths. This is an easy fix.  Get up and move around.  Even if you don’t drink coffee, get up and get some water.  Take a walk down the hall, take a flight of stairs or two,  take the long way around and avoid the elevator.  Get moving!  Improved oxygen uptake also improves circulation and improves your joints, avoiding those aches and pains we get from sitting still like stiff joints.  Take five deep breaths before you begin working.  Take five deep breaths before you go for your bathroom break.  Immobility breeds immobility.  Improved oxygen flow gives you more energy, and it makes for improved brain function.  Now who doesn’t need that?
  3. Germs – They are real and they are everywhere.  There are sick people who aren’t as germ conscious as others.  A sanitizer that has at least 60% alcohol is a great product.  Also, those individual wipes that are treated with sanitizer are great for wiping down surfaces that can be germ infested.

 

  • For general use areas:  think about door knobs, handles, counter tops – (seriously how often do you think they wipe down the counter at the convenience store that you just touched when you set your coffee there to dig out the atm card? Then you have to scratch your nose).
  • Office areas:  a shared stapler, phones, the buttons on the copier, the handles on the supply cabinet,  the surface around the coffee pot, desk surfaces, and of course door handles.
  • Personal areas:  THE REMOTE – what do you use when you are sick?  The remote! There you are coughing, hacking, pushing buttons on the clicker, blowing your nose then touching the remote again and again.  EW!  wipe that baby down!  Cell phone and home phone – you breathed on it then touched the screen, wipe it down!
  • children’s toys, toilet handles, cabinet handles, the Wii remote; anything that is commonly used can be a germ factory.

 

Keep in mind, you can go overboard in the germaphobe thing.  Sometimes I think we undo ourselves by over doing the sanitizer thing.  When I was a kid and played outside, wiping my nose on my hand, then playing in the dirt, repeating for the many hours I stayed outside – I rarely got sick.  We’ve become so germ conscious and quick to use antibiotics I think we are undermining our own good intentions.  Just something to consider.

What are your thoughts.  Do you think I’m silly with my ideas?  Do they make sense to you?  If you’ll notice I haven’t referenced any medical journals or CDC statistics.  I’m just looking for preventative measures to avoid future bouts of illness and lead a healthy balanced life.

Now I am ready to get back in to the swing of things and tackle writing again!

Write on my friends, in good health – write on!

 

2 comments on “Prevention and Recovery

  1. Great post chickie! I agree with your advice. I also have my family use Echinacia (sp?) daily. It really boosts the immune system. Especially my hubby, who used to be plagued with respitory illness a couple of times every year, losing a week or so at a time. Now, if he does get sick, it’s much milder and only lasts two days. Crazy but true!!

    Like

    • Yes we’ve used echinacia before as well. When I remember. Unfortunately I don’t think about it until it’s ” I should have.” LOL But anything we can do to prevent is better than losing time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

