The Thin Line


images (19)

Inspiration does not announce it’s arrival.  It doesn’t telegraph or give you a head’s up.  Much like lightning, it strikes seemingly at random.   I realize that 99.999% of the time, lightning is not going to strike from a clear blue sky.  But that .001% – out of the blue – BAM!

I’ve  made notes in my idea notebook, as to when the idea first struck me,   where, when, who I was around,  what was going on  – there is no pattern that I can discern.  It’s a thin line, that line of genius versus insanity. How close to the razor’s edge  will inspiration take you before your get cut?

The latest idea struck me while attending church.  I tried to pay attention, really I did. The service was all about drumming up volunteers in the children’s ministries, the nursery and  school aged kids. I understand why they do it plus it gives a once a year highlight to let  everyone know what’s going on.  So while they are talking about all things children related . . . my mind wandered.

Sitting on the second row was the associate pastor and his lovely wife.  Hmmm, what if . . . .   as Gru states “lightbulb”!  My youngest daughter says she is impressed and in fear for her life.  She suggested that perhaps I should seek individual counseling.  OH COME ON!  It’s not like I actually put this particular pastor into the story.  It was just a character based on him. And it’s not like it would be the first man of the cloth to ever have a transgression.   Let him who is without sin cast the first stone!

Is it really blasphemy to  imagine that a pastor is capable of a murder?  A murder in plain sight?  Seriously, stranger things have happened.  It’s not like I have him molesting altar boys or anything.

Faith is having a strong core belief in something.  Religion is going through the motions for the sake of following the religion.  We all know religious people that we trust less than the ex-con  down the street.   Many atrocities have been committed in the name of religion, through various faiths.  So why is it so horrific that I get struck with inspiration about a man with dark secrets to hide?

Don’t get me wrong, the real life  associate pastor– as far as I can tell — is a decent man.  It is fiction, borrowed from real life, inspired by an individual with certain goals  he wishes to achieve.

How does a person that is living a double life behave?  Are there telltale signs?  Are they absolutely secretive?  How do they  get caught?  What would terrify him so badly of being caught that he commits a crime openly in public and possibly get away with it?  These are the burning questions that came to my mind while the video played sweet cherub faced angelic children.  These are the details that have  overrun my brain.

Yes, I know I should repent.  Just as soon as I discover the details and scope out the evidence, the red herrings, and   get this dirty scumbag liar!  I’m hot  on the trail now and not even hellhounds can dissuade me from my path. I’m writing down the core ideas while they are fresh, then getting back to my edits on the current project.

I”m very pleased with my latest progress, I’ve sent off 3 submissions this past week, and I have 2 more that I am working on.  I’m having one of those writer elation times right now, and I’m going to ride this wave as long as I can because I know well the breakers are coming soon.

Riding that thin line, Occam’s razor, writer’s elation,  in need of therapy – whatever you call it – Kowabunga dude!

Write on my friends, write on!

4 comments on “The Thin Line

  1. Yippeee on the submittals! I’m still bucking the system and doing it (the hard way) my way. Maybe one of these days I’ll pull an E. L. James and write something so atrocious folks can’t help but talk about it, then buy it, turning it into a best seller that eventually brokers a movie deal. (lol)

    Here’s hoping, eh?

    Like

    • Like in Modern Studies class or something? I know some high scohols offer this but mine doesn’t and I think we should learn about things like politics, I think it’s important for young people to know what’s happening in the world. What do you think, and why?I know some people think teachers woud imprint opinions on them, but we’re not actually human sponges, and good teaches can teach without enforcing their opinions.I know some people think teachers woud imprint opinions on them, but we’re not actually human sponges, and good teaches can teach without enforcing their opinions.

      Like

  2.  ( 2012.02.14 23:43 ) : I must express some apeprciation to you for rescuing me from such a crisis. Just after surfing around through the the net and getting thoughts which are not productive, I was thinking my entire life was done. Being alive devoid of the strategies to the difficulties you have resolved by way of your good article is a critical case, as well as ones which may have in a negative way damaged my career if I had not noticed your web blog. Your own personal talents and kindness in taking care of all things was tremendous. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come upon such a step like this. I can also at this time relish my future. Thanks a lot so much for this impressive and results-oriented guide. I won’t hesitate to propose the sites to any person who needs direction on this area.

    Like

Leave a Reply

