G. Mitchell Baker Interview


Today’s guest is a charming man with a vivid imagination.  For all of my sci-fi fans, I think that you’ll find his books enjoyable. I found it quite interesting poking around in his mind, and I hope that  you will agree. Tune in as he answers my questions, then tomorrow he will share an excerpt. 

Please welcome G. Mitchell Baker! 

GM BAKER

Tell me a little about yourself.

Always a work in progress, sometimes I wonder whether the creative tension comes from me, or from the stories. I have lived in many places and done many things. It is nice to draw on experiences lived, but I never draw on any one experience exclusively … Oh wait … there is one project, Lethal Believers: DVM (Master Koda Select Publishing, 2013) where I drew on an experience after learning about it in a veterinary malpractice case. It involved the abuse of a horse. Simply put, there was no other way to write the scene after being the attorney in deposition, who solicited the testimony of a ketamine abusing sociopath and horse killer. I guess, having said as much, if there is a little about myself to be said, I have never shied away from tough situations, and, as in this example, have always tried to bring compassion to the party when possible.

What genre do you write?

I am, or have been published in genre to include Paranormal/Mythology (Lethal Believers Series); Young Adult Contemporary Fiction (Soccer Tommies Baseball Mommies); Science Fiction (ANNT: Axiom Series); and, Contemporary Fiction (Emerson Series).

What genre do you read the most?

My reading has always been diverse and I have never landed and settled in one genre. There are genre I am not interested in, like the prurient ‘romance’ but otherwise I read a lot of different stuff from a broad range of interests.

OUCH! I’m crushed.  You wouldn’t read my book? It’s a contemporary romance. The next one is a different genre, but with an element of romance. Anyway, moving on.

Which book have you read the most in your lifetime?

No question, the book I have read the most throughout my lifetime is The Bible (versions of The Bible). I heard, it was by far the most read book in the world so I guess that makes it the longest running Number 1 Bestseller. Kind of humbling for this novelist.

I would have to agree on that point,  The Bible is probably the book I have read the most, and keep reading. I am surprised at the number of people who claim to be Christians that have never read the Bible.  In my opinion, if you are going to profess a religious belief then you should know what it is that you are professing. But that’s just me. Anyway, moving on. What do you most value in a friend?

It has to be respect … respect that flows easily back and forth as a mutual respect. Respect allows for the sharing of beliefs and other common values, which in turn strengthens the friendship. I fear there are too many young people who are not experiencing these values given their preoccupation with social networking and access to far too much information that is salacious, prurient or simply what I call ‘Nut Celebrity’ or ‘Fool Celebrity’. Gosh, we owe our children more than what we offer now. Are we even friends with our kids anymore … of not is it because respect is just so lost in all the noise and distraction out there?

Which book that you have written is your favorite?

The Involvement of Emerson, 2nd ed. And soon to be released in series, The Consistency of Emerson are my favorite novels. These books contribute a whole lot to the conversation about friendship, fathers and families values. I know the topic isn’t that sexy, but I do a good job with the characters and thematic and will always be proud of this work.

ANNT: Axiom is also a favorite because this Sci-Fi Series, is written so young adults may feel comfortable critically thinking about science, technology, government, and society as they grow on into their near futures.

I hope to continue writing the Emerson series planned, to include The Awareness of Emerson and The Nurture of Emerson. I believe I could write the ANNT Series forever, and as long as there is an interest in the material.

Where do you get your greatest ideas for writing?

In my latest Blog on Tonto (UK) I write about this and, while providing an example from a current project. I talk about electronic Flight management (EFM) and Exceptional Father Management (EFM). Go figure. Kind of lets my audience in on a fun aspect of my writing process. http://tondo.is/post/g-mitchell-baker-novelist-of-picasso-and-introduction

Do you use real people as your characters or do you completely make them up? Describe your process.

No. I do not rely on real people to create a character. In general, character development in my work is a two-step process. First, I will take at least three character/appearance traits (often many more) and combine them. This will be a starting point. Usually, about a third of the way into the writing the character starts to take over and leads the way. However, there are times when the character is just not that original or interesting. At this point, I will pause and ask myself what, if anything, I can do to make the character more original or interesting. Usually I do not whittle the character at this point and do what I call ‘180’. The 180 is taking the character and rewriting it to exactly 180 or the opposite of everything I have already written. More often than not, the results have been quite fascinating. This process usually energizes the project as well and by this time, there will be no ‘real people’ remotely similar, unless by total coincidence.

How do you handle research? Do you gather all data first or start writing while still gathering?

I have always loved research. I will sometimes start out with a researched concept, but for the most part, I will sense inspiration or work in Picasso moment and when I feel the idea is solid some may require research and others not. If the developments requires research I will do it immediately and satisfy and outstanding questions before I proceed. I find research contributes new fuel, a positive energy to my writing process.

For example, in the ANNT Axiom project, there is a lot of research to make sure the science is solid. For me it never seems like work. It always helps to continue with new idea and to move the story forward.

In ANNT: Axiom, I recall researching the Square Cubed Law, (or cube-square law) which is a mathematical principle, applied in a variety of scientific fields. It describes the relationship between the volume and the area as a shape’s size increases or decreases. It was first described in 1638 by Galileo Galilei in his Two New Sciences. This principle states that, as a shape grows in size, its volume grows faster than its surface area. When applied to the real world this principle has many implications, which are important in fields ranging from mechanical engineering to biomechanics.

It helps explain phenomena including why large mammals like elephants have a harder time cooling themselves than small ones like mice, and why building taller and taller skyscrapers is increasingly difficult. Well this could have killed the entire series… then I started to research other science and technology and the genius characters in the book had viable alternatives to work with, courtesy my research and my draw from other incredible scientists and prodigies. The Square Cubed Law should be a real problem in the Jurassic park movies, but alas is not … I kind of like the idea my geniuses dealt with the problems straight up. I’m not sure libraries even wonder about things like this anymore… again … I am trying hard to promote critical thinking in kids … not just the irresponsible sensitization.

Wow! That’s some  interesting research.  I have to say,  in a world that has gone mad over bad writing and sensationalized stories, I won’t mention the titles of best-selling erotica or sparkly vampires, ahem,  it was refreshing to read Ender’s Game.  It involved critical thinking, and I feel that the world in general has been  in autopilot mode  to the point that they don’t engage their brains AT ALL.  

This reminds me of  Michael Crichton’s books, (since you mentioned Jurassic Park)  in which he  had a tremendous amount of scientific research.  In Timeline (much better book than movie by the way even though it did have Gerard Butler in it) his conveyance of quantum physics is delightful.

Alright, moving on to the next question. Do you outline or are you a pantser?

Never outline. Too much of it in law school. My structure comes from the process of naming my chapters in early drafts. The chapter titles are detailed enough to always remind me where I am in the story. In the later drafts, if it is adult fiction the titles are dropped. If it is a young adult project, I usually retain the chapter titles and hone the titles.

Having said as much, the word ‘pantser’ is intriguing. It is a NaNoWriMo term that means that you ‘fly by the seat of your pants’ when you are writing your novel. I can’t say I do that … between the research, processes for character and structure, I’m pretty sure I’m not flying anywhere and that the seat of my pants is not an issue. *smiles*

ANNT: Axiom I & II (2015)                                                 ANNT: Axiom III & IV (2015)

annt ax annt

By G. Mitchell Baker

ANNT is a new Science Fiction series for kids and adults alike. Enjoy thinking about the future, science, technology, government, and society as Adaptable Neo-Nature Technology and old Mother Nature

compete for the role as the world’s default nature. Left to decide is whether ANNT or oMN will be humanity’s preferred nature provider.

ANNT Facebook: Shop Button: http://on.fb.me/1bp8UQY

ANNT Amazon:  http://amzn.to/1Q1Qbsz

ANNT: Axiom I & II

 

Author Bio:

Within each genre of interest, G Mitchell Baker writes with a purpose and foundation in social value that includes a sense of family and community. Baker brings this commitment and purpose to the reader in a forthright and intense manner … a style that engages the reader with character, intriguing plot, and a sense of purpose for making a difference.

With traditional publications in eBook, paperback and, with feature-length screenplays sometimes optioned for film production, G. Mitchell Baker enjoys writing professionally and loves to meet new friends and fans! You can find him at:

Facebook G. Mitchell Baker, Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/GMitchellBakerAuthor

Facebook ANNT: Axiom Page: https://www.facebook.com/ANNT.Adaptable.Neo.Nature.Technology

Facebook The Involvement of Emerson Page: https://www.facebook.com/TheInvolvementOfEmerson

Facebook Soccer Tommies Baseball Mommies Page: https://www.facebook.com/SoccerTommiesBaseballMommies

Facebook Lethal Believers Page: https://www.facebook.com/LETHALBELIEVERSNOVELS

Twitter: https://twitter.com/G_MitchellBaker

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/1gmbdelta505/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6877294.G_Mitchell_Baker

Author Website: http://www.gmitchellbakerauthor.com/

 By G Mitchell Baker

Novels in Fiction

Thank you for taking your time to share in my little corner of the world.

Tomorrow, an excerpt!  Be sure to tune it!

Write on my friends, write on!

 

Leave a Reply

