Thrills and Chills!


I am a product of the 80’s.  My hair still thinks it’s the 80’s!  I didn’t need volumes of hairspray then like my friends, but now unless I want to keep my hair in a braid I have to use various products to tame the mane.

80's hair, no hairspray. (Notice the windblown side that's all out of place.)

80’s hair, no hairspray. (Notice the windblown side that’s all out-of-place.)

Anyway, what’s hair got to do with this anyway??  When you think of 80’s you automatically think big hair! This post isn’t really about hair.  I just thought y’all might get a kick out of that big hair photo. (You know since so many do that throwback Thursday thing.)

*Just a note –  When I wrote this, minus this line it was 666 words. I had to add a line quick!*

Moving on . . . 80’s . . . where was I going with this?  OH yes, the HORROR movies.

Back in my day . . .  my boyfriend took me to the drive-in to see a HORROR movie triple feature.  It was a stormy night.  NO really, it was!  There was lightning ripping through the air,   had to have the wiper blades on for half of the first show, then again on the main attraction.  This was a very memorable night in my foray to horror movie watching.

I remember it distinctly. The first movie was Night of the Living Dead, the black and white 1968 classic by George Romero.

Movie poster for Night of the Living Dead

Movie poster for Night of the Living Dead

                                   Johnny: They’re coming to get you, Barbara, there’s one of them now!

                                   Johnny: [in a creepy voice] They’re coming to get you, Barbara!

                                   Barbara: Stop it! You’re ignorant!

                                   Johnny: They’re coming for you, Barbara!

                                   Barbara: Stop it! You’re acting like a child!

                                   Johnny: They’re coming for you![points to the cemetery zombie]

                                   Johnny: Look, there comes one of them now!

                                   Barbara: He’ll hear you!

                                   Johnny: Here he comes now!

It was creepy,  a little scary, but  didn’t really get much of a reaction from me.

Next up was  a classic that I had seen before,  Invasion of the Body Snatchers.  This was the 1978 remake,  not the original. I don’t think it was as good as the original.  We talked through the entire movie, comparing it to the original.

Invasion-of-the-Body-Snatchers1

Then the third movie, which of course they waited until the end to show.  Friday the 13th!

Oh MY! From the start this movie had my attention.

A group of camp counselors is stalked and murdered by

an unknown assailant while trying to reopen a summer camp

which, years before, was the site of a child’s drowning.

Movie poster for Friday the 13th

Movie poster for Friday the 13th

Five minutes into the movie,  the skies opened up. With the added feature of thunder rumbling, lightning flashing through the skies, and sheets of rain assaulting the car,  I don’t think  this movie could have been more terrifying if it were planned.   The storm let up with fifteen minutes left  in the movie. My boyfriend,  now husband thought it was cool. He didn’t think so at the end.

I knew better than to relax and think it was all over.  She was trailing her fingers in the water out in the boat.  I just knew that something was going to grab her hand and pull her under, then it didn’t happen. Dawn is breaking,  the water looks serene.  I knew there was something in the water.  I knew it!  But nothing grabbed her.  Then the cops finally show up, she sits up waving to get their attention, and BAM!

My fingers were clasped around his wrist in a death grip, my eyes as wide as saucers. breath caught in my throat. After a few minutes he pried my fingers apart to get some circulation in his hand.  I didn’t sleep once I got home.

For weeks I had nightmares.  It’s not funny!   I had horrifying nightmares as a child and have had some serious nightmares as an adult.

But every once in a while . . . . for some strange reason I still will watch a horror movie.  What is it about them?

Was there a Horror movie that scared you?  I mean really scared you?

Write on my friends, write on!

 

 

3 comments on “Thrills and Chills!

  1. The Exorcist. Hands down, scariest movie I’d ever attempted to watch. Still stands as my all time favorite. Beyond that, I LOVE the older horror movies – those with plenty of jumps, chills, and surprises. Not a fan of the newer movies as they tend to lean too heavily on gory special effects – they’re more gruesome than scary to me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

