Put A LIttle Love in Your Heart


Warmest Wishes to everyone!

THIS is how I feel this morning.
I was greeted this morning on Facebook to find out that I was reported for posting an offensive picture of Santa’s little helper.

Santa's little helper

Santa’s little helper – I do not own the rights to this image,  I borrowed it from Cherry Adair!

I am over 21 – by  a long shot.  I sometimes have  thoughts that are of a sexual nature.  I appreciate the finer qualities of the human body. You know, like rippling abs and bulging biceps as opposed to gaseous emissions and under arm body odor.  My apologies to those that are offended by such talk. I’m tempted to say ‘grow up’ but as I refuse to. . . . to each his or her own.
It’s obvious that there are many, many people in the world that need some good cheer during this Holiday Season – whether it’s Christmas, Chanukah, Yule, Kwanzaa or whatever else you celebrate.
For me it’s Christmas. I’m not going to preach, but give me just a second of your time. When the angels appeared to the shepherds in the field (found in the book of Luke in the Bible) their message was “Peace on Earth, good will to men.” With the announcement of the birth of Christ.
That’s my Christmas wish to everyone – PEACE AND GOOD WILL TO ALL!
I don’t expect you to have the same faith as me, the same opinions as me, or the same values as I do. Diversity is a many splendoured thing – our differences help us to make this wonderful recipe known as mankind. Now wouldn’t it be sad if everyone was just like me? Or just like you?

I think that there is room enough on this big green ball of terra firma that we can all exist with our differences without condemning someone else simply because they are different. If we are to be warmongers, existing on hatred towards everyone that is different from us then we would have to kill our loved ones as well because they are –  different. Your spouse is different from you, your children are different with different personalities. Your parents are different from you!

You are a lone crusader for the YOU cause!

Is that really how we want to be? So caught up in our own egocentric existence that we can’t extend a little grace and humanity towards others? Why not be agents for change? I personally would rather be known for being one that cares and helping instead of griping about how things are. I can’t help everyone,  but I will help those that I can.

Years ago Rodney King said it: Why can’t we all just get along?

tommy_darknessquote

f674f31c16408376f23746e64587b67e

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Yes, my playlist this morning is retro 80’s but Annie Lennox is timeless!)

I realize that I am not everyone’s cup of tea.  I get that and I am perfectly ok with that because some of you,   you aren’t exactly my cup of tea either.  Like for instance, there are some people out there that eat beets. There are even some people out there that eat liver – willingly! I know right?

During this time of year, more people are prone to warm wishes than any other time of year. I wish that it was the case throughout the year but it isn’t.

So, for a few moments I want you to think outside of yourself. Fill an old purse with a few snacks, some wet wipes, some tissues, perhaps a pair of gloves and give it to the next panhandling female you see. Fill an old backpack  with similar items for a man. Stuff some peanut butter crackers in there, some beef jerky, perhaps a small package of cookies and a fresh apple.  Bless that homeless man who hangs out around the intersection that you drive through.

Extend a little compassion to the elderly man who walks with a painful limp as he enters the grocery store. He could have been a World War II vet that fought for your freedom but he’ll never demand your respect.

That elderly woman who can’t see over the dashboard, that nearly plows into your car may have recently been widowed.

The young man at the checkout counter that has been railed on for not being fast enough could have just lost his dad.

You don’t know what the other person is going through,  is it really too difficult for us as part of the human race to extend a little compassion to those around us?  Is it too much to be kind to the people who you meet on the street and in the stores?  Is it  so difficult to smile at someone? anyone?

I wish that every person would  get the gift of love this season. Not  just romantic love,  but the love for your fellow man.  The love of a brother, a sister, a child, a parent, that comforts your soul to the very depths of your being. I wish that love fills you to overflowing so that it spills out onto those around you!  I wish that laughter and joy are part of your holiday and the coming year.  I wish that love becomes not just a word to you but that it becomes a reality in your innermost being.

Be part of the solution, not part of the problem.

Put a little love in your heart today and let it infect those around you! For the person that reported me –  I hope a humongous bolt of love and compassion wallops you upside the head and  infectious laughter overtakes you to the point that you embarrass yourself in public!

NO, seriously –  a good healthy dose of joy and laughter to them so maybe they won’t be so uptight.

Warmest wishes to everyone!

Write on my friends, write on!

With lots of love and laughter ~

Ellie

 

One comment on “Put A LIttle Love in Your Heart

Leave a Reply

