Beaujeaux


Recently in the Bujo Journal Junkies group, a discussion came up about what we call our Bullet Journal. My snark immediately rose to the surface and said FRED! Which I thought was funny until a member named Fred said, “I don’t get it.”

The initial post was something to the effect that the person didn’t understand why we called it BuJo. The thread has since been removed because someone got offended. I never let a little offense stop me, so I am going to sum that discussion up here.

Ready?  Be sure to have your sense of humor with you, keep your hands and feet inside the vehicle while it is in motion.

Alright, so the first argument – why don’t we just call it our BJ?

*levels eyes* 

OK, so we’re not junior high girls given to giggle fits, but seriously . . . NO.

“What are you doing?”

“Writing notes for my BJ.”

“What? You have to make notes? I think maybe a little hands-on practice might work better. Here, let me help.”

However fun the hands-on practice may be, it will not help me to track my to-do list, or  track my water intake – don’t even go there, or keep me on track for the next day. Unless you are keeping track of how many times you give/receive a BJ  and if so I don’t want to know.  I have kids. Kids that can read. I don’t need to track  those things!

BuJo –  short for Bullet Journal – seems to be the  majority vote for the acronym. There was still a great amount of giggling as a few mentioned that now they wouldn’t be able to not think of the similarities to BJ.

I commented that when I pronounce BuJo, it comes out as if it were a French word –  beaujeaux.  One commentor laughed and said –  OH! a french BJ. Even better. Another said –  Ooh La La! The discussion spiraled downward from there to cosplay, French maid costumes, code names  until eventually someone was highly offended by a comment that referenced scheduling sex for the truly OCD.

Look, if that is what you need to put into your bullet journal – knock yourself out!  It’s a system for YOU to keep track of your day, to plan ahead and get more accomplished.  Maybe more intimacy is something you need in your relationship then by all means!

Remember that the bullet journal is a tool in managing your day and making progress towards your goals.

Either you run the day or the day runs you. 

 ~Jim Rohn~

My comment of Beaujeaux seems to have caught on as I see multiple posts  with the beaujeaux tag. See?  I’m a mover and a shaker! I’m an influencer and world shaper! It’s just a start in a small little sector of a Facebook group but it’s influence never the less. I’ve influenced a segment of the group to use my pronunciation when in fact,  I was merely being a smart ass.

Le sigh! 

Oh well, it’s better to be a smart ass than a dumb ass!

Write on my friend, write on!

Ellie

 

5 comments on “Beaujeaux

Leave a Reply

