Another ‘Nother New Thing


I have writing friends who focus on one story at a time.  I wish I could. I really, really wish I could.

I have good intentions, set goals for myself,  knuckle down to a project and then  inevitably. . . it happens.

“Hey, over here!”                                                    “Look at me!”                

                                       “No, look at me.”                                                     “Ignore them, it’s me you want.” 

So many  characters vying for my attention!

The first is Bran, my dragon lord’s brother. (Touch of the Dragon, 2nd book in Dragon series) He hates being second born,  wants the power for himself but doesn’t yet have the where with all to manage his own life much less a kingdom.  Yeah, I really need to get back to that one.

The second, A Viking warrior locked in time for centuries anxious to  avenge  his brothers and win the  beautiful Valkyrie maiden that set him free. (Valkyrie’s Curse: The Trial of Aegir; book 2 in Valkyrie’s series) Book 1 is in revisions right now,  I’ve written about a third of book 2.

Thirdly, the ghosts. OY! The ghosts, they never shut up.  Did you know that ghosts don’t sleep? So they have all the time in the world to  think of ways to annoy you. (new project – Ocean Whispers)

Fourthly, mystery writer Alex McCarthy.  And I thought my head was scrambled with ideas!

The line continues,  but I have to admit Alex has gained my attention.  I’ve spent a few days working on a new genre,   and a detailed outline. This is the story that I am going to tackle during Camp Nano in July while I do revisions on Valkyrie’s Curse.  I  received some feedback from my beta readers so I must make some adjustments. So far the feedback is really great!  A few technical difficulties,  but the overall impression is that it’s good. I can’t even begin to tell you how elated that makes me feel.

On another note, I’ve been recovering from a car accident. I’m still waiting to hear back from the insurance company on whether my car is totalled or will be repaired.  If they total it,  then I am getting a bigger car, one that isn’t cramped.  I will miss my little red sports car, though. Meanwhile,  a year’s worth of  chiropractic visits have been undone, leaving me  wishing that I still had a prescription for painkillers.

Where was I?  Oh yes, the writing projects.  My current project is  about Alex McCarthy.  I took an online course about  outlining your whodunnit.  I couldn’t help myself,  I had to give it a whirl.  Alex has been trying to bend my ear for months now.  Little whispers here and there,  dropping hints that  pique my curiosity,  and finally  parading the super sexy detective  across my vision. THAT got my attention. Oh wow,  did that ever get my attention!

I’m considering adding back in my Sunday snippets as I work through this story. What do you think,  anyone interested in a sneak peek?

Between editing, the home based business, and writing I’ve been meeting myself coming and going.  Anything worth having is worth working for though, right?

I’m working the plan, even if I’m the only one that sees how the dots are connected.

Write on my friends, write on!

Til next time,

Ellie

 

2 comments on “Another ‘Nother New Thing

Leave a Reply

